Ice Twins: Full Review

Book: The Ice Twins

Author: S K Tremayne

Recently I went on a small road trip with my family to Lansdowne. And leaving my home for 3 long days without a book in my hand is inevitable. So I started reading The Ice Twins on my way there.

Now usually when I start reading a book, it takes me two to three days or 6 hours if it is an Agatha Christie. But this one got me hooked like there was no tomorrow. I couldn’t bring myself to sleep before completing it. The thrill and chills you’ll receive while reading this book are so strong they will keep you going until the last page.

The Ice Twins is written in the perspective of two grieving parents Angus and Sarah who have lost one of their identical twin daughters in a tragic accident. The disturbing quotient of the book increases when they move to a remote island to get away from their sad lives and their surviving daughter Kirstie claims to be the dead twin, Lydia. From then on, you have to be patient and keep track of things as it gets really confusing at times.

As the story progresses, so many questions arise like was it really an accident? Did Lydia die? Or was it Kirstie? If so, why was Lydia pretending to be Kirstie for fourteen months? What actually happened? Is one of the parents to be blamed for the death of their child?

Also progressing with these questions are some of the answers. Each new chapter answers a few questions and raises twice more doubts in the minds of the readers. And nothing is eerier than a seven-year-old girl doing things which scare the living hell out of readers. Like you are seven, man. Calm down!

The book has many scientific explanations for the ‘eerie’ things happening but the author has also kept them open for readers who may want to believe in the supernatural. Although I did find it odd that the parents weren’t able to tell their own daughters apart but the book did mention that the girls were practically the same in looks.

You’ll find yourself swinging between the viewpoints in this one. Be it between Angus and Sarah or the present and past. And I felt that was the one thing which hooks you to the book. It’s like the author wanted the readers to put some thought into the story, to actually imagine and visualize all that was being done to the characters which are the main objective of any book. In the end, the author has kept an open ending for the readers, you can let your imagination soar in any direction you want.

So read on this mystery thriller and exercise your brain as a weekend treat!

Leave a comment